The Magic of Change (10/4/15)

“If nothing ever changed, there would be no butterflies.”
author unknown ~ From Butterfly Quotes
10:4:2015 L. M sigSunday, October 4, 2015 – Today is day four of OcPoWriMo and our prompt for today is Do you believe in magic? When I look around at all the beauty that shares our planet with us I have to admit that this totally inspires the belief of magic in my heart.  Sometimes even the hard parts of natural cycles, like death, can be  beautiful.  Artist, Georgia O’Keeffe, painted many bones in the desert that demonstrate this beauty and feel very magical.  Today I had a monarch and other creatures in the garden. During the photographing of the butterfly I witnessed and documented its end.  At first I thought it was caught on something in the buddleia and when I went to try and free it found that I could not and that it was being changed into another form of life.  A very pregnant praying mantis had caught the monarch and there was no escape, even with my help.  So I bore witness and felt sad. Though I know that the mantis has to eat to live, there have been few monarch sightings this year in my yard.  When I went to visit the asters I found another praying mantis which was magical because I haven’t seen two in my yard at the same time (though I know it happens when I find their egg cases) and I wondered if this was the male that impregnated the female without loosing his head .  Mantis has beauty and magic, as does the Monarch.  There were also many other creatures out and about.  I will share only one photo of the mantis and the monarch, as I did find it sad and had to search my soul for the magic because I was looking forward to writing with today’s prompt.  I deeply considered only sharing the photos I took of living creatures and omitting the story of how the monarch’s life ended, but I felt that this would take away from the true magic that is part of the magic of the transformation in the circle of life and also something that was a rare sight to see.
10:4:2015 L. M 4JPG sig 10:4:2015 L. M 2 sig“an icon for change,
mystery, and beauty
the magic monarch”
~ Raven Ariana Simons

10:4:2015 L. M 1 sig 10:4:2015 L. M 3 sig“magic taking flight
on sun burnished wings so bright
you will be transformed”
~ Raven Ariana Simons
10:4:15 L mantis m sig“sadly I witness
the circle of life and change
the fall of Monarch”
~ Raven Ariana Simons
10:4:2015 hb sig 10:4:2015 native bee sig“pretty little bees
in aster blossoms so white
beware of mantis”
~ Raven Ariana Simons

10:4:15 L mantis asters sigNamaste, Bright Blessings, Namu Amida Butsu ~ Raven

4 thoughts on “The Magic of Change (10/4/15)

    • Thank you so much Deepti. Since my project started with the photos and much less words, I have surprised myself to have grown more words. I think that last year when I first started participating with you all at OcPoWriMo, my words have been increasing!

Leave a Reply

