Mr. Peanut and Friends (10/2/15)

10:2:15 Mr. Peanut sig“Don’t be afraid to be weird, don’t be afraid to be different, don’t worry too much about what other people think. Whatever it is that’s original in you and your work might sometimes make you feel uncomfortable. That probably means you’re on the right track, so just keep going.

Dare to be foolish.”
~ Terri Windling
10:2:15 sunchockes sigOctober 2, 2015 – Day two for OcPoWriMo brings rain, hail, and the tiniest bit of sun which I took advantage of.

Once apon a time (today) I went out in my backyard and met a squirrel.  Just for fun, we’ll call him or her Mr. Peanut.  The photo at the top of this post was the best and only glimpse you’ll get today of our friend.  Mr. Peanut got her/his name because she/he is one of a pair of young squirrels that have been raised in the yard and when I would make a certain sound, as they played, I’d place some peanuts in the arbor vitae because they would always come and chat with me. They’d make cute little chirps, rather than the scoldings or warning barks that I’d previously heard from the neighborhood squirrels. The jays got wise to this trick and started listening in for my special smoochie sounds and would often beat the squirrels to the treats.  I always made sure to hide a few extras and I know that the Peanut Pair would find them.  I originally bought the peanuts to make friends with the neighborhood crows before I was befriended by the squirrely adolescents.  There are many creatures of different types (including the plant people) that inhabit my yard and we’ve had lots of adventures together. I’m not sure what my neighbors think when I’m out and about in yard and neighborhood chatting with my fellow beings.  Most likely many find me odd.
10:2:15 blossom sig 10:2:15 hive 1 sig“the bees are busy
while a wasp tries to sneak in
wasps aren’t invited”
~ Raven Ariana Simons

10:2:15 sunflower sig“The simple truth is that being a creative artist takes courage; it’s not a job for the faint of heart. It takes courage each and every time you put a book or poem or painting before the public, because it is, in fact, enormously revealing.”
~ Terri Windling
10:2:15 leaf:kale 3 sig 10:2:15 drops sig“a moment of sun
on a changeable fall day
brings out little friends”
~ Raven Ariana Simons
10:2:15 goldfinch sigBright Bee Blessings, Namaste, Nama Amida Butsu ~ Raven

4 thoughts on “Mr. Peanut and Friends (10/2/15)

    • Thank you and since I had a bit of a hiatus after over 3 years of everyday (first 2 posted only on FB and called Walk In Beauty project) I think the creatures are happy I’m back with the daily visits, though I’m sure my neighbors still find me odd 😉 Namaste!

  1. Went out this afternoon and saw our resident groundhog (Woodchuck, whistle pig), whom the kids have named “Wiggy”. He/she jetted across the front yard to the woodpile.

    Loved your communion. But then, I’m often considered odd. =)

Leave a Reply

