Rain (3/2/15) and Snow (3/3/15)


3:3:15 b f opening 1 sig
“A day of spring —
wherever any water is,
in darkness lingering.”
~ Kobayashi Issa

Honeybees collecting crocus pollen on 3/2/14.

Honeybees collecting crocus pollen on 3/2/14.

Click here for photos for March 2, 2012, 2013, and more 2014.

Mourning dove on 3/3/14.

Mourning dove on 3/3/14.

Click here for photos for March 3, 2012, 2013, and more 2014.

Monday, March 2, 2015 – We had a little bit of lovely rain today and it is supposed to snow tomorrow, so I think I’ll put these two days together with a song covered by several famous bands and based on an old Celtic traditional song that migrated to the mountain places of the US where immigrants settled from the British Isles.  I really like the way The Lonesome Sisters interpret it and you can find a link to a youtube recording at the end of the post with lyrics.  Pentangle also did a lovely version. The Celts are a passionate people.  In some traditions water is connected to emotion. If allowed emotions can flow like water and if dammed can build up and overflow.  Many of the old songs from these areas are washed with what we think of (in the western culture) as the “darker” emotions.
3:2:15 b street sig 3:2:15 b drops j sig 3:2:15 b f sig
“Early spring –
stream flows
toward my door

~ Kobayashi Issa3:2:15 b drops j 1 sig 3:2:15 b reflection sig“precious raindrops fall
bringing life to thirsty land
much needed water”
~ Raven Ariana Simons3:2:15 b forsythia sigTuesday, March 3, 2015 – Today it snowed and we are on track with our song theme.  I have also added some haiku from a Japanese master, Kobayashi Issa. I learned a little about him today at a book club meeting that I am new to.  Here’s a link where I found some of his poetry 🙂3:3:15 b street sig 3:3:15 b f opening 1 sig 3:3:15 b calendula sig“Seeming as though
this would be the last of it…
so much spring snow”
~ Kobayashi Issa

3:3:15 s fennel sig 3:3:15 b hazel leaf sig “cold snow is falling
water in another form
some love, some avoid”
~ Raven Ariana Simons

3:3:15 b two f 1 sig
Here you can listen to the beautiful rendition of “Rain and Snow” by The Lonesome Sisters

Rain & Snow
Traditional, arrangement & last verse by Debra Clifford

Well I married me a wife, gave me trouble all my life
Run me out in the cold rain and snow,
rain and snow, run me out in the cold rain and snow

She came on down the stairs throwin’ back her yellow hair
and her cheeks were as red as a rose,
as a rose, her cheeks were as red as a rose

she came into the room where she met her fatal doom
and I aint gonna be treated this old way,
this old way, and I ain’t gonna be treated this old way

I shot through the head and I laid her on the bed
and I ain’t gonna be treated this old way
this old way, and I ain’t gonna be treated this old way

Her baby cried all night I know that what I done ain’t right
the wind howls her name oh so low,
oh so low, the wind howls her name oh so low

Debra Clifford © 2004

The Lonesome Sisters Lyrics
Sarah Hawker & Debra Clifford
lonesomesisters.com

Our hearts give thanks for the Grace in the Universe!
Namaste  and Nama Amida Butsu ~ Raven
Leave a Reply

