Jewels in the Melting Snow and Ladies out for a Drink 2/27/15

2:27:15 dr l 1 sig“Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn.”
~ Benjamin Franklin
Click here for past February 27 photos (2012, 2013, and more 2014).

Rain on hazel twig on 2/27/14.

Rain on hazel twig on 2/27/14.

Friday, February 27, 2015 – Today was very interesting because I’ve been having conversations about a new contraption called the “flow hive” that supposedly takes the work out of beekeeping.  My personal opinion of this invention is that it takes the mindfulness, skillfulness, kindness, compassion, and joy out of being a beekeeper.  I care about my bees and keep them for themselves rather than for the honey they produce.  In fact, my intuition was to leave them all of their honey in 2014.  I’ve been actively interested in and educating people locally about native pollinators since the early 1980’s.  I love biodiversity for its own sake.

This lady implores you to look around at the world and the creatures that share it with you with kind and compassionate eyes.  Taken at the urban oasis on 2/27/15

This lady implores you to look around at the world and the creatures that share it with you with kind and compassionate eyes and take action to end ecocide.  Photo at the urban oasis on 2/27/15

Most of my friends and family on Facebook know I am a beekeeper I have had many tags and posts to my timeline about this “flow hive” because the average person thinks this is a great thing and I’d enjoy learning about it.  Perhaps I’d even like to own one for myself.  This is not the case.  In fact, I think that it is a disaster in the making for the bees (as if they didn’t have enough problems).  The Winnebago Diaries (FB friends and fellow beekeepers) articulate concerns about the “flow hive” beautifully in this post.  Their FB page is Fair Share Honey.
2:27:15 hb cute sigI wasn’t originally going to post any of the honeybee photos I took today but given the online conversations I have had, decided I’d add them in with the melting snow and little water jewels on the emerging pollinator food (clover and dandelions).  I chose my quotes because I believe that education about what is truly happening to the earth and the biodiversity that keeps it livable for all is a key factor for getting grassroots efforts going.  The only way we can “save” our fellow creatures, soil, air, earth, water, and ourselves is if we all learn about the challenges we are facing, the ecocide that is happening, and do something.  I’ll start with my favorite quote from Margaret Mead ~ “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.” 
2:27:15 cl d sig  2:27:15 fat drop sig2:27:15 interesting sig“I am not a teacher, but an awakener.”
~ Robert Frost
2:27:15 fat drop sig 2:27:15 dr l sig 2:27:15 melting snow cl 1 sig“it can start with words
or images that move us
to protect the earth”
~ Raven Ariana Simons
2:27:15 dandy sigOur hearts give thanks for the Grace in the Universe!
Bright Bee Blessings and Namaste ~ Raven

Leave a Reply

