Queen of the Wee Hours 1/2/15

“I love the silent hour of night,
For blissful dreams may then arise,
Revealing to my charmed sight
What may not bless my waking eyes.”
~ Anne Bronte
1:2:15 pl sigFlashback, Monday, January 2, 2012 – On the fourth of January I’ll again have photos for 2012 because this is when I began the Walk In Beauty daily photo project on Facebook.  2012 was a leap year, which blessed us with an extra day for the month to February.  Just for fun, I’ve decided I will put the pick photo for February 29, 2012 in tomorrow’s place for the January 3rd, 2012 flashback photo.
Flashback Wednesday, January 2, 2013 – This is my pick photo of the day and it stars a lavender stalk showcasing the intense orange light from the sunset filtered through polluted (inversion) air.
January 2, 2013 sigFlashback Thursday, January 2, 2014 -This pick photo for today stars moss that grows on a tree a couple of blocks away from my home.
January 2, 2014 sigFriday, January 2nd 2015 – My second flower on my zigzag cactus opened as the sun set on New Year’s Day.  I also lost a dear friend to cancer.  I waited until midnight as the fragrance filled my entire room so that I could take photos of this amazing blossom and have them for today.  This is the first year that I’ve had this cactus/succulent and was delighted to have two blooms.  The first one I missed when it was at its peak and I was only able to take photos of it the next day and I didn’t have a helper to hold a light source.  Taking the pictures I was able to get was quite tricky as I either had to hold the flashlight with my teeth or hold the camera in one hand and the flashlight in the other (not too steady, sadly).  I gave t my best shot …. literally!  Today I have Hubby to thank for staying up and patiently holding this fab little flashlight that I got as a gift 🙂
1:2:15 whole picture closer sigPart of the process of taking my photos is lots of prayers and gratitude!
1:2:15 pollen s v sig 1:2:15 full on front sig
So far, I have never edited or changed the pictures in any way.  I left them the way that the camera saw the subject and then my computer took this information in to be shared.  I am revisiting this part of my project and I might consider some editing, special effects, or other artistic possibilities when Year Four officially begins, although anything that I do in the area of “artistic possibilities” will be in addition to my regular offerings.
1:2:15 stamen side 1 sigI hope that anyone viewing these wonderful gifts from The Great Spirit might be blessed by a further opening of their hearts to the small beauties that surround them.
1:2:15 textures sigI also concentrate on subjects that I find beautiful and others might not know exist.  I have found out over time that this can be especially true of the insect people and small common birds and plants that many overlook or believe to be “weeds” and “pests”.  Truly “weeds” are plants growing in places where humans don’t want them and “pests” are plants or other living creatures that might compete with or inconvenience humans.  This flower is not one of the common and unappreciated plant people (at least where I live) that humans find annoying.  In fact, people pay money for these.
1:2:15 stamen sig1:2:15 plantlers 1 sig“in the still of night
I came, opened, and conquered
through total beauty”
~ Raven Ariana Simons
1:2:15 semi side sig1:2:15 pollen sig“The world rests in the night. Trees, mountains, fields, and faces are released from the prison of shape and the burden of exposure. Each thing creeps back into its own nature within the shelter of the dark. Darkness is the ancient womb. Nighttime is womb- time. Our souls come out to play. The darkness absolves everything; the struggle for identity and impression falls away. We rest in the night.”
~ John O’Donohue
1:2:15 semi side sig1:2:15 plantlers 1 sig“awake or asleep…
when do you dream I was asked
walking the Dreamtime”
~ Raven Ariana Simons
1:2:15 s f 2 v sigOur hearts give thanks for the Grace in the Universe!
Namaste and Dreaming Blessings ~ Raven

Leave a Reply

