A Mysterious and Beautiful Fragrance 12/29/14

To find the universal elements enough; to find the air and the water exhilarating; to be refreshed by a morning walk or an evening saunter… to be thrilled by the stars at night; to be elated over a bird’s nest or a wildflower in spring — these are some of the rewards of the simple life.
~John Burroughs

12:29:14 nice sigFlashback Saturday, December 29, 2012 – This is my pick photo for today and it stars a pair of spent lavender stalks in the snow. I love how the snow sparkles!
Decembe 29, 2012 sigFlashback Sunday, December 29, 2013 – This is my pick photo for today and it stars the berries on euonymus. I asked my neighbor what these were, as they had caught my eye, and he also told me that the birds love them!
December 29, 2013 sigMonday, December 29, 2014 – Yesterday hubby bought me some of my beloved soap from one of my very favorite companies that make soaps and lotions, Pre de Povence.  The soap is “The Queen’s Honey” and is made from honey, shea butter and lavender and is specifically made from the honey gathered by the honeybees that pollinate the company’s Provencal lavender.  The fragrance is heavenly.  Another of my favorites that the company makes is called “Angel’s Trumpet” and is based on the fragrance of night blooming brugmansia or datura.  As night grew so did a heavenly perfume that filled my house.  It was a total mystery because I kept thinking it was my new soap, but when I smelled the soap, it smelled of lavender honey (as it should) and why was the scent getting stronger by the hour?

Photo from the website of Pre de Provence.

Photo from the website of Pre de Provence.

Today I figured out the mystery!
12:29:14 blurry zz sigOne of my orchid cactus had bloomed and it is a night bloomer.  Because the flower  faced the window it lives by, I didn’t see it until today while I was caring for my plants and it was past its prime!  They bloom for a single night.  This variety is called a zigzag orchid cactus.  The good news is that there is another bloom that will hopefully, with prayers, come to open while I can watch it.  Did you know that the Victorian’s used to have flower watching parties in their conservatories just to watch the night blooming cereus (another night blooming succulent) open?  The children were allowed up to watch the opening of the glorious blossom and it was made into an occasion!
12:29:14 zz 1 sig 12:29:14 zz down 1 sig 12:29:14 fading zigzag sigI imagine that it was quite a sight to see me trying to juggle holding a flashlight that I kept dropping from my teeth or one hand and my camera in the other as I attempted to take photos.  Hubby wasn’t home yet to be my helper!  I hope that you enjoy my results of this impromptu portrait attempt and the story of this fun mystery!  I give thanks for the Great Spirit and Grace everyday!  Truly this made my day awesome 🙂
12:29:14 zz sig 12:29:14 zz detail sig“Perfume is magic. It’s mystery. We recreate the smell of a flower. Of wood. Of grass. We capture the essence of life. Liquefy it. We store memories. We make dreams,” he told her once. “What we do is a wonder, an art, and we have a responsibility to do it well.”
~ M. J.  Rose
12:29:14 side zz sig“heavenly fragrance
a magical mystery
hidden flower”
~ Raven Ariana Simons
12:29:14 nice 1 sigOur hearts give thanks  for the Grace in the Universe!

2 thoughts on “A Mysterious and Beautiful Fragrance 12/29/14

Leave a Reply

