Datura and Dragonfly Migration 10/15/14


“Clouds of insects danced and buzzed in the golden autumn light, and the air was full of the piping of the song-birds. Long, glinting dragonflies shot across the path, or hung tremulous with gauzy wings and gleaming bodies.”
~ Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
10:15:14 illum wings sigFlashback Monday, October 15, 2012 – This is my pick photo for today and stars a honeybee in basil started from seed by my youngest son 🙂
October 15, 2012 sigFlashback Tuesday, October 15, 2013 – This is my pick photo of the day and it stars autumn leaves on my neighbor’s tree.
October 15, 2013 sigWednesday October 15, 2014 – Today it was very windy and I have a few photos of what I believe to be my last datura blossom of the season. The wind was blowing hard enough to make photos a challenge today.  I also saw a number of variegated meadowhawk dragonflies.  Four at one time where trying to perch on fennel and old iris stalks in the same spot. I believe that they might be migrating.  Also The Xerces Society is requesting help from citizens to find out about migrating dragonflies.  Today is the 15th day of the month long poetry challenge.
10:15:14 datura v sig 10:15:14 datura inside sig
10:15:14 d side sig  10:15:14 d wall sig 10:15:14 d sig“oh beautiful one
I wonder where you’re going
autumn migration”
Raven Ariana Simons
10:15:14 d nice background sig 10:15:14 datura sig 10:15:14 d facing sig 10:15:14 illuminated d sig 10:15:14 d fennel wings sig“where do you wander
variegated meadowhawk
I am curious”
~ Raven Ariana Simons
10:15:14 close d sigOur hearts give thanks for the Grace in the Universe!
Magical Dragonfly Blessings and Namaste ~ Raven

2 thoughts on “Datura and Dragonfly Migration 10/15/14

Leave a Reply

