Sweet Obsession 10/12/14

“I would like to be the air that inhabits you for a moment only. I would like to be that unnoticed and that necessary.”
~ Margaret Atwood
10:12:14 close wasp sig“You become what you think about all day long.”
~ Ralph Waldo Emerson
Flashback Friday, October 12, 2012 – This is my pick photo for today and it stars one of the few petunias left and a mystery. What’s been dining on this petunia?
October 12, 2012 sigFlashback Saturday, October 12, 2013 – This is my pick photo for today and it stars one of the ladies on a neighbor’s asters 🙂
October 12, 2013 sigSunday, October 12, 2014 – Today was chilly and I actually took the prompt for the12th day of the month long poetry challenge as my inspiration for the subject of today’s photos and post.  It’s all about the wasps and their obsession for sweets at this time of the year.  All wasps, except the fertilized queens, die at the end of the season.  Earlier in the year, when they are feeding their young, the larvae produce sugar for the workers while the adults are building the nests and tending the young.  In the fall, the young are grown, the next generation mated, and the workers live out the rest of their lives until they are killed by the cold.  They still need sweets to survive and any protein (especially with hornets and yellow jackets) they can find is fair game.  Hummingbird feeders are places that draw wasps with their bright yellow parts and sugary reward.  I allow the wasps to live peacefully in my yard and they allow me up close to take photos.  Do you know that wasps and bees have facial recognition abilities?
10:12:14 incoming sig 10:12:14 flight sig 10:12:14 wings 1 sig 10:12:14 flying 1 sig 10:12:14 looking sig“Sweetness, I’m hungry
I can’t seem to stay away…
it is getting cold”
Raven Ariana Simons

10:12:14 flyer 1 sig 10:12:14 drip sig 10:12:14 in flight sig 10:12:14 wasp sig 10:12:14 group sig“give me treats to eat
I am craving more and more
almost Halloween”
Raven Ariana Simons
10:12:14 face to face sigOur hearts give thanks for the Grace in the Universe!
Namaste ~ Raven

Leave a Reply

