A Close Call 7/6/14

Flashback Friday, July 6, 2012 – This is my pick photo for today and stars mountain mahogany in bloom. I really like how you can see the individual hairs on the catkin/blooms and how the light hits the plant. This is a native species and I have it in my front yard for xeriscaping purposes, plus I love having native species  🙂
July 6, 2012 sigFlashback Saturday, July 6, 2013 – This is my pick photo for today and it stars Kanu, my friend’s new HP F2 (high percent second generation) Savannah.

July 6, 2013 sigSunday, July 6, 2014 – Today I witnessed a wasp trying to get my beloved milkweed beetles.  This time she wasn’t successful.  I didn’t know that the paper wasps went after these beetles.  I have hostessed paper wasps on my front porch in previous years and they recognize the people who are good to them (they have facial recognition abilities).  While I love my beetles I love the paper wasps, too.  It is the circle of life  This time the wasp didn’t take home any dinner to her children and the beetles went on to live and love another day.  Here is the succession of photos that I took while it unfolded.  Note that at the end of this encounter the wasp got stuck in some milkweed sap and had to clean off.
7:6:14 1 three beetles sig 7:6:14 2 surveying sig 7:6:14 3 wasp sig 7:6:14 4 coming in sig 7:6:14 5 after the beetles sig 7:6:14 6 after the beetles  more sig 7:6:14 7 trying to pull the beetle sig 7:6:14 8 flying in sig 7:6:14 9 spying sig 7:6:14 10 trying to go in sig 7:6:14 11 sap sig 7:6:14 12 got sap sig 7:6:14 13 stuck sig 7:6:14 14 sap mouth sig How milkweed beetles do 🙂

Milkweed beetle love
stroking antennae softly
new generation
~ Raven Ariana Simons
7:6:14 15 how beetles do sigThis damselfly was a special ally this weekend and a representative of a a magical omen. He/she made an appearance when I was going in the house after my photo adventures.  I am deeply grateful for the insect people, my little friends.

Damselfly sitting
so still on a stem you wait
hungry for dinner.
~ Raven Ariana Simons

7:6:14 damsel 1 sigOur hearts give thanks for the Grace in the Universe!
Namaste ~ Raven

Leave a Reply

