Milkweed Light and Shadow 6/14/14

Flashback Thursday, June 14, 2012 – While my milkweed blossoms are mostly drooping and fading, a few plants behind the growing curve have a few blooms that still draw some pollinators. It isn’t bee central as it was earlier in the season, but for some reason this is the second time I’ve been able to catch this beauty feeding. While I saw the swallowtail when the milkweed was in full bloom I never actually saw it feeding until recently. I wonder if the more aggressive bees discouraged it? Now with fewer bees and only a couple of open blooms I’ve had 2 days of pictures 🙂

June 14, 2012 sig Flashback Friday, June 14, 2013 – This is my pick photo for today and it stars a damselfly. I’ve only seen a couple of damselflies and a single dragonfly so far this year.

June 14, 2013 sigSaturday, June 14, 2014 – Some artistic looks at my milkweed as it is moving past its peak.  I haven’t seen my beloved red milkweed beetles yet this year.  I am hoping that they are late and not wiped out by some unknown cause.

6:14:14 leaves sig 6:14:14 shadow light sig 6:14:14 wings sig“What men call the shadow of the body is not the shadow of the body, but is the body of the soul.”
~ Oscar Wilde

6:14:14 fading milkweed sig 6:14:14 art bee sig 6:14:14 sun milkweed sig“Maybe the only thing each of us can see is our own shadow.

Carl Jung called this his shadow work. He said we never see others. Instead we see only aspects of ourselves that fall over them. Shadows. Projections. Our associations.

The same way old painters would sit in a tiny dark room and trace the image of what stood outside a tiny window, in the bright sunlight.

The camera obscura.

Not the exact image, but everything reversed or upside down.”
~ Chuck Palahniuk
6:14:14 flying bee butt sig 6:14:14 solarized side bee sig “I thought the most beautiful thing in the world must be shadow.”
~ Sylvia Plath

6:14:14 bee and ladybug sigOur hearts give thank for the Grace in the Universe!
Namaste and Bright Bee Blessings ~ Raven

 

Leave a Reply

