Thunderstorms and Rain 5/9/14

Flashback Wednesday, May 9, 2012 – These interesting little round bits are the buds of milkweed, the only food of the monarch butterfly. I grow this in my garden and have been trying to get it to spread. It started as a volunteer. The Monarch butterfly migration is threatened with extinction because of GMO crops and pesticides that are wiping out milkweed across the US. I love this picture and it is my pick photo for today, May 9th, because of the incredible detail and the neat cottonwood fluff that has lodged next to the buds. You can even see the cottonwood seed 🙂  Another point of interest about the milkweed is that it has a red and black beetle that also feeds on it. So far every year I have seen beetles living in mine.

May 9, 2012 sigFlashback Thursday, May 9, 2013 – This is my pick photo for today and it stars one of my pretty purple violas.

May 9, 2013 sigFriday, May 9, 2014 – Rain and thundershowers on and off today thus water is my theme.  I was also able to get a little black chinned hummingbird and a dove.

5:9:14 dove sig5:9:14 o grape leaves sig5:9:14 o grape droplet sig5:9:14 water salsify sig“At night I dream that you and I are two plants
that grew together, roots entwined,
and that you know the earth and the rain like my mouth,
since we are made of earth and rain.”
~ Pablo Neruda

5:9:14 close salsify sig5:9:14 yellow clover sig5:9:14 rain sig “The cloud is free only to go with the wind. The rain is free only in falling.”
~ Wendell Berry

5:9:14 hummer sigOur hearts give thanks for the Grace in the Universe!
Namaste ~ Raven

 

Leave a Reply

