Around the Yard 5/7/14

Flashback Monday, May 7, 2012 – I absolutely love this picture and it is my pick photo for today, May 7th. When I was little and growing up by the beach in Southern California I found a deep purple and yellow sea slug (nudibranch) in the water of the canals in Venice Beach that looked a lot like this iris close-up. I was so impressed with this creature that I’ve carried the memory close to my heart all of these years 🙂  When I think back on my life I feel so grateful for all of the memories I hold dear of animals and natural places I have had the honor to know and love!

May 7, 2012 sigFlashback Tuesday, May 7, 2013 – This is my pick photo for today and it stars a male goldfinch in one of my apple trees just as the thunder storm starting sending down rain. You can also see that most of the petals have fallen off of the apple blossoms. There are some full blossoms left higher in the tree and you can see the rain falling on these in one of the photos I shared before this one 🙂

May 7, 2013 sigWednesday, May 7, 2014 – Here we see iris, a male quail, comfrey blossoms, snowball bush, salsify, and a hummingbird.

5:7:14 salsify smaller sig5:7:14 salsify sig5:7:14 snowball bush sig“The very least you can do in your life is figure out what you hope for. And the most you can do is live inside that hope. Not admire it from a distance but live right in it, under its roof.”
~ Barbara Kingsolver

5:7:14 white iris sig5:7:14 Bobert sig5:7:14 light purple iris sig “Your dreams, what you hope for and all that, it’s not separate from your life. It grows right up out of it. ”
~ Barbara Kingsolver

5:7:14 quail eye sig 5:7:14 comfrey blossoms sig“What I want is so simple I almost can’t say it: elementary kindness.”
~ Barbara Kingsolver 5:7:14 hummer sigOur hearts give thanks for the Grace in the Universe!
Namaste ~ Raven

Leave a Reply

