Blue Pollen and Moss 3/14/14

Flashback Wednesday, March 14, 2012 – I love this scrub jay and his/her attitude. Her/his colors go well with the beautiful sky that we had this morning.

3:14:12 sigFlashback Thursday, March 14, 2013 – This honeybee is my pick photo for today and she is drinking from snow melt water coming out of the raised bed my son, Trevor, built for me last year for Mother’s Day. I was happy to see her and get this photo. I have another place that is a water source for the bees and other creatures out by my front porch. This area seems popular, though.

3:14:13 sigFriday, March 14, 2014 – Today I visited a shop I love that has a beautiful garden and was able to get some lovely photos of honeybees gathering blue pollen from Siberian squill, one of the few sources of blue pollen for honeybees. I also took some of fruiting moss.  I wasn’t able to get close to the honeybees because they were shy, but if you click on the photos you should be able to see the blue pollen.

These are the flowers they were collecting from.

3:14:14 closer squill sig3:14:14 honeybee w:pollen sig3:14:14 moss w:fruit sig“I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived. ”
~ Henry David Thoreau

3:14:14 honeybee in squill sig3:14:14 moss vista 1 sig3:14:14 close moss spores sigThese are the best pollen photos!

3:14:14 bee with blue pollen sig3:14:14 blue pollen sigLovely flowers!

3:14:14 squill sig“Aye,” said Math, “let us seek, thou and I, by our magic and enchantment to conjure a wife for him out of flowers”…And then they took the flowers of the oak, and the flowers of the broom, and the flowers of the meadowsweet, and from those they called forth the very fairest and best endowed maiden that mortal ever saw, and baptized her with the baptism they used at that time, and named her Blodeuedd.
~”Math Son of Mathonwy“, Mabinogion (Jones and Jones, 1989, p. 68). via WikiQuotes

Our hearts give thanks for the Grace in the Universe!
Namaste ~ Raven

One thought on “Blue Pollen and Moss 3/14/14

  1. Pingback: Come As You Are – 3/13/15, 3/14/15, 3/15/15 | Grace and Mystery

Leave a Reply

