Pollen For My Ladies 2/23/14

Flashback Thursday, February 23, 2012 – This is my pick photo of the day and shows a bird’s nest (the same one I’ve been photographing) with amazing sunset colors and the Oquirrh mountains in the background.

February 23, 2012 sigFlashback Saturday, February 23, 2013 – This is my pick photo for Saturday when it was pouring down snow and I was waiting for the plow so I could get off my street to get to my granddaughter’s birthday party. This is a lovely hazel catkin being blown in the snow!

February 23, 2013 sigSunday, February 23rd, 2014 – Last year the snow was flying on this same date as seen above.  This year it was sunny and my ladies came out to gather pollen from my hazel trees.  The resident sparrows were also eating the catkins that are open on the aspen in my front yard thicket.

Here’s one of the female sparrows enjoying catkins.

2:23:14 pollen  muncher2:23:14 catkin eating sparrow sigThe hazel catkins have unfurled and pollen is blowing around.

2:23:14 catkins v 1 sig 2:23:14 close up pollen sig

My ladies are bringing it home.

2:23:14 hive and pollen sig

2:23:14 incoming sigBusy, busy honeybees on the hazels!

2:23:14 eyes sig2:23:14 side view pollen2:23:14 two beesHere this lady is literally “digging” the pollen and you can see it flying around.

2:23:14 pollen digger“She loved him so much she concealed his name in many phrases, the inner meanings known only to her.”
Rumi, The Book of Love: Poems of Ecstasy and Longing

2:23:14 side bee“I want to see you.

Know your voice.

Recognize you when you
first come ’round the corner.

Sense your scent when I come
into a room you’ve just left.

Know the lift of your heel,
the glide of your foot.

Become familiar with the way
you purse your lips
then let them part,
just the slightest bit,
when I lean in to your space
and kiss you.

I want to know the joy
of how you whisper
“more”
~ Rumi

Our hearts give thanks for the Grace in the Universe!
Namaste ~ Raven

One thought on “Pollen For My Ladies 2/23/14

  1. Pingback: Where Lava Once Flowed 2/23/15 | Grace and Mystery

Leave a Reply

