Three Years of Setting Suns 1/17/14

Flashback 2012 – This is today’s choice of a photo. Sunset taken from my front porch on Tuesday, January 17th.

January 17, 2012 sigFlashback 2013 – This is my pick photo of the day and it stars the setting sun framed by a hazel tree. I really like how the light is outlining twigs and buds here, Thursday, January 17th.

January 17, 2013 sigToday is Friday, 2014, and I visited with some lovely horses at lunch.  I had the opportunity to pet a couple and scratch their ears and even saw one rolling in the snow.

1:17:13 horse roll snow sig1:17:13 horse as dog sig1:17:13 horse getting up sigAfter rolling, this one came up and even let me take these extreme close ups.

1:17:13 horse eye sig1:17:13 horse eye close sigThere are several in the field by my place of temporary employment and here comes one of the others to check me out.

1:17:13 horse with blaze sigWhen I got home the sun was setting through dense air pollution.  I didn’t realize when I chose today’s photos that they would make three years in a row of setting sun pictures on January 17, especially because I didn’t know I’d be adding this evolution of the project as it was happening in 2012 and 2013.  I originally planned on doing a single year in 2012 of daily pictures.  I also couldn’t have known then that I wouldn’t miss a single day for two years.  Putting the pick photos for 2012 and 2013 on this blog with current photos started this year at the beginning of the third year of the Walk In Beauty project.  It will be interesting to observe how it unfolds during 2014.

This is the sun just the tiniest bit down behind the Oquirrh Mountains (invisible because of air pollution) and the twigs are forsythia.

1:17:13 sunset twigs sigHere the plant is mountain mahogany and the sun is down a little farther and looks like it is being cupped by mountain mahogany leaves for an interesting effect because they just happen to line up with the slope of the mountain and the air pollution masks the mountains.

1:17:13 setting sun sigIn retrospect the 17th of January, 2012 wasn’t as heavily polluted as the same day in 2013 and 2014.

“Every day is a journey, and the journey itself is home.”
— Matsuo Basho

Namaste ~ Raven

Our hearts give thanks for the Grace in the Universe!

One thought on “Three Years of Setting Suns 1/17/14

  1. Pingback: Medicine Sister 1/17/15 | Grace and Mystery

Leave a Reply

