Gifts in the Snow ~ 2/10/13 and 2/11/13

In 2012 I managed to take pictures everyday for my Walk In Beauty project and to share them almost daily on my Facebook page.  This definitely stretched my abilities and allowed me to do more and improve as the year progressed.  Starting this blog seems to be a different process.  I’ve been able to continue getting out to take my photos and I’ve even made it a block away from my home each day since beginning.  What I’m finding more challenging is to put my pictures together with more words than I needed for my project last year and have it make sense and be pleasing.  Writing takes more time as does adding extra media elements like hyperlinks and videos.  In 2012 I posted my pictures once a day and shared as little as one sentence of words with each photo.  If I had more to say I would add that in.  In some ways the biggest challenge was just getting out daily to take the pictures.  Now I get the challenge and gift of improving my writing 🙂

This is my neighbor's Buddha yesterday (2/10/13) after I wiped the snow from his face.  I wanted to get him with a snow hat and this looks more like a comb-over ;-)

This is my neighbor’s Buddha yesterday (2/10/13) after I wiped the snow from his face. I wanted to get him with a snow hat but this looks more like a comb-over 😉

I’m also finding out that it is okay for the words of this project and the posts to unfold each day without any particular agenda.  Part of the fun will be seeing where this goes.  I had the gift of some pretty photos yesterday and I thought I’d share these before I get out for today’s walk.  Remember the arrangement of the sumac seeds and snail shell arrangement I found on Saturday?  These looked especially pretty partially covered in snow.

Snail and sumac in the snow on February 10, 2013.

Snail shell and sumac in the snow on February 10, 2013.

The sun comes out to shine down on this cute mystery arrangement on 2/10/13.

The sun comes out to shine down on this cute mystery arrangement on 2/10/13.

The sky was beautiful with shifting clouds and light.  Here is a tree I like that lives on my street and the neighborhood Buddha with what looks like a wave of snow.

2:10:13 weepy evergreen 2:10:13 z buddha

I had some more lovely snowflake gifts, too.

Snowflakes on a rose leaf on 2/10/13.

Snowflakes on a rose leaf on 2/10/13.

Snowflake on Oregon grape on 2/10/13.

Snowflake on Oregon grape on 2/10/13.

Towards the end of the day I really liked seeing this icicle hanging from a tree and I thought I’d share the neighborhood Buddha with the snow melted down to pillow form.

2:10:13 buddha 2:10:13 tree icicle

I love this poplar with clouds and a lamp with the sun shining behind it on my street.

2:10:13 clouds poplar 2:10:13 lamp

The sunset was nice, too, and illuminated these icicles on the end of my porch.

2:10:13 sunset 2:10:13 horizontal icicles

I’ll re-post here the link to a music video using some footage I shot of some different icicles melting off of the same position of my porch a little earlier this year done by my husband.  The video is called “Spirit Sound”.

Our hearts give thanks for the Grace in the Universe!

Leave a Reply

