Meditation and Ivy ~ 2/6/13

Last night I went to an excellent meditation lead by my good friend Ram Nam Singh, a devotee at the Salt Lake Krishna Center.  It was so simple, yet excellent, that I got his permission to share it with you.  The photos I am putting together with the meditation were taken on today’s walk. The ivy grows on the very same tree as the moss and lichen pictures from yesterday.  I will share more about my adventures after these instructions 🙂

Start in a comfortable position, preferably with your back straight.  Take a few deep breaths and begin quieting your mind.  Take a deep breath, hold briefly, then relax as much as possible on the exhale.  Do this twice more.  Now continue breathing in a relaxed manner and start saying this mantra to yourself:

“I forgive everyone for everything that has been done to me.”  Repeat this for a few minutes.

Ivy and moss with bark on neighborhood tree

Ivy and moss with bark on neighborhood tree

Take three deep breaths as you did at the beginning of this mantra.  Now continue breathing in a relaxed manner and start saying this next mantra to yourself:

“I ask for forgiveness from everyone I have every harmed.”  Repeat this for a few minutes.

ivy and moss growing on a neighborhood tree

ivy and moss growing on a neighborhood tree

Take three deep breaths as you did at the beginning of this mantra.  Now continue breathing in a relaxed manner and start saying this last mantra to yourself:

“I forgive myself.  I dwell in forgiveness.  I dwell in God.”  Repeat this for a few minutes.

ivy growing on a neighborhood tree

ivy growing on a neighborhood tree

Take three deep breaths as you have been doing at the beginning of each mantra.  As you are ready, while you continue to breath in a relaxed manner, bring yourself gently back to the present moment. ~ Namaste ~

baby ivy leaves growing on neighborhood tree

baby ivy leaves growing on neighborhood tree

It is my belief that practicing forgiveness helps me by allowing me to let go of old resentments that potentially burden me and poison my relationships.  Asking for forgiveness helps me to keep my side of the street clean, because I make mistakes and sometimes hurt others.  I found this meditation very helpful to further my practice. I hope you like it and find it helpful, too 🙂

sunny Buddha in the snow

sunny Buddha in the snow

The sun was shining more brightly today, though we still have heavily polluted/inverted skies.  I took the same route that I had for the last two days to start and was blessed again with lots of birds.

bluejay

bluejay

house finch and sparrow

house finch and sparrow

mourning dove

mourning dove

I also met two new neighborhood friends.  Meet Eddie:

Eddie - Jack Russel's terrier mix

Eddie – Jack Russel’s terrier mix

Eddie’s mistress told me that she adopted him from the Utah Humane Society.  She shares that he has been the most wonderful companion and has lots of energy.  He was wearing a very cute jacket to keep out the cold.  I also met Molly:

Molly - lab

Molly – Labrador retriever

Molly’s mistress had walked into the street because Molly is a little shy.  I didn’t get a chance to ask about her story, though perhaps we’ll meet up again on another day.  I always ask the owner’s permission and tell them about my blog when photographing their dogs. Both ladies were happy to allow their companions to be here.

I was also able to get a nice picture of this fallen lichen that I saw yesterday but was unable to do justice to because of low light conditions.

fallen lichen

fallen lichen

In the same yard is this really awesome lichen covered rock.

rock with lichen and complimentary shrub shadow in the background

rock with lichen and complimentary shrub shadow in the background

I think I mentioned yesterday that I’m fascinated by lichen.  I also like fungi, especially shelf fungi, though I didn’t see any today.  I did meet this fellow, though 🙂

squirrel with nut

squirrel with nut

Isn’t he or she cute?

cute little squirrel

cute little squirrel

I saw another cute being at the same address that made me think of the honeybee people.

dandelion - food of champions

dandelion – food of champions

Nature’s miracle and it was totally amazing to see this dandelion getting ready to bloom even though the temperatures have been so very cold and there is still plenty of snow on the ground.  This brought to mind the fact that dandelions are a a critical food source for pollinators, especially endangered pollinators, because they bloom and provide food when little else is available.  Such a very important body of knowledge, so please take time to click the link and find out more 🙂

I really had a lot of super fabulous pictures today and could share more but I need to get this posted and totter off to bed.  I’d like to end by saying that I went over an extra block to walk back and saw this fabulous tree covered in ivy.

tree pretty covered in ivy

tree  covered in ivy

Pretty neat considering my focus towards the beginning of my walk of the ivy growing on the tree with moss and lichens a block over 🙂  I’d also like to let you know that if you are in the area there is an 11th Step Meditation/Prayer meeting at the Salt Lake Krishna Center on Sunday evenings at 6:00 P.M.  There is no charge though donations are gratefully accepted.

Our hearts give thanks for the Grace in the Universe!

Leave a Reply

