A Walkabout In the Neighborhood ~ 2/4/13

I decided today that I was going to expand my daily photo project on Facebook that I call “Walk In Beauty 2013” to include a daily neighborhood walk when I can fit it in my schedule.  I started the photo project at the beginning of 2012 and since January 4th of that year have been able to take pictures every day.  Most of my subjects have been in or close to my home or somewhere I have visited.  Now I’d like to venture a little further abroad and want to explore the extended neighborhood.  Here are some highlights from today’s adventure.

On the east end of my street I saw that my neighbor has some beehives.

Urban Bees

Urban Bees

Bee hive in the snow.

Bee hive in the snow.

Next I noticed interesting formations in the clouds as I took the jog that takes me to the continuation of the street I live on.

Mysterious clouds that look like trails in the sky.

Mysterious clouds that look like trails in the sky.

The neighbors were very nervous to see an unfamiliar soul with a camera in the neighborhood and I was questioned extensively. I’m not sure if I was able to totally help them feel comfortable, even after I shared where I live. I was having a very good experience with the birds though and seeing lots of diversity. This bluejay had a big peanut in his/her mouth and must have been stashing them in this chimney.

Bluejay with peanut

Bluejay with peanut

bluejay

I also saw lots of sparrows, starlings, a pair of mourning doves, robins, chickadees, mystery birds, and an awesome woodpecker.

Downey woodpecker

Downey woodpecker

I also saw this neat feather stuck to some sumac.

mystery feather

mystery feather

Walking back the clouds had changed and I decided I would get a picture of that, too.

neat clouds

neat clouds

My last subject are these seedpods of my neighbor’s mimosa tree.

mimosa pods

mimosa pods

I really look forward to all the hummingbirds that will come in the spring to enjoy the flowers of my neighbor’s mimosa as well as the other flowers in the neighborhood. I feel that my outing today was successful and I found some interesting subjects to share pictures of.  There is a Navajo prayer that speaks about walking in beauty.

Traditional Navajo Prayer

“Dark young pine, at the center of the earth originating,
I have made your sacrifice.
Whiteshell, turquoise, abalone beautiful,
Jet beautiful, fool’s gold beautiful, blue pollen beautiful,
reed pollen, pollen beautiful, your sacrifice I have made.
This day your child I have become, I say.

Watch over me.
Hold your hand before me in protection
Stand guard for me, speak in defense of me.
As I speak for you, speak for me.
As you speak for me, so will I speak for you.

May it be beautiful before me,
May it be beautiful behind me,
May it be beautiful below me,
May it be beautiful above me,
May it be beautiful all around me.

I am restored in beauty.
I am restored in beauty.
I am restored in beauty.
I am restored in beauty.”

Aho Mitakuye Oyasin (to all my relations)

Our hearts give thanks for the Grace in the Universe!

~ Namaste ~ Raven

Leave a Reply

